Happiness is a gift.

“The Prince”

I’m reading a book called The Prince by Niccolo Machiavelli. In chapter 17 Machiavelli addresses the question of whether it is better to be loved or feared. he at first says it is best to be both…but not many people can be both. Queen Elizabeth was. But not many other rulers can do both. Machiavelli  then says it is better to be feared than loved. He says people should respect the ruler or he will take away everything…except their property. I disagree, however. It is better to be loved in my opinion. Because t be loved means you have to earn the people’s love…and that takes time and effort to get that. A ruler should show he cares for the people and want to do what is right. If a ruler is feared wy would be want to listen to him or believe what he says? I wouldn’t.

Needless to say, The Prince was a beautifully written book! It consisted of examples to follow from both sides of his argument. It can be used as a guide for our rulers. If they listen! But for a ruler to be genuinely great he must remember the importance of following God and trusting Him to be the ruler God wants him/she to be!

~”Listen to me, you islands;
hear this, you distant nations:
Before I was born the LORD called me;
from my birth he has made mention of my name.”~

Isaiah 49:1

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

