Happiness is a gift.

Digging Deep

I hate reading. With a burning passion. Whenever I have to read, it is awful… BUT last night at Borders book store….there was a sale on Shakespeare…a girl can’t help herself around him…he drew me in and then he was in my hand…that night  I left with 5 of his plays. All $2 each!!! I was so excited! Like I was going through the book store and finding all the Shakespeare plays and seeing all the discounts and couldn’t help myself. Now, I hate reading…even reading Shakespeare, but I am able to enjoy him(and other old authors) because of the language used in their writings. It was beautiful and calming…almost…something about old literature is so exciting and challenging. It’s not like the junk people write today where we can read a book and then that be it…you have to research terms and dig deep into what the author was meaning! It’s a lot more enjoyable and rewarding once you finish something like Beowulf or Sir Gawain and the Green Knight! Now do I still hate reading? YES! But when I take the time to sit down and research and understand the authors point it’s so much more enjoyable!

My List so far(of books I need to read):

1.) Utopia- Thomas More

2.) Beggar’s Opera – John Gay

3.) Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe

4.) Much Ado About Nothing – William Shakespeare 🙂

5.) Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson

6.) Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen (sadly I didn’t get through this one..so I am starting over)

7.) Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea – Jules Verne

8.) The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas Fils

9.) Gulliver’s Travels – Jonathan Swift (I actually need to finish it…it was so interesting…I recommend it)

10.) Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray

That’s my summer reading list so far! I am working to finishing them all! Through the past year though I have grown to appreciate Literature due to all of my literature courses…3 to be exact. Two British Literature classes and one mixed literature/ composition class 🙂 It’s kinda funny how God puts our dislikes right in front of us and makes us work hard at what we hate. But I’m so grateful that I have been given the opportunity to take all of those classes…

So my encouragement through all of my rambling, is this work hard at the things you don’t necessarily like. You can work hard at the things you like too! But sometimes God puts into places and He gives us chances to do things we don’t always like…but work hard and stick to it..it will be worth it in the end!

Work hard and become a leader;
be lazy and become a slave.

Proverbs 12:24″

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

