Happiness is a gift.

Superman

Once a month my beautiful city of Cape Coral has a movie in the park…this month of April the movie was Superman Returns. Now I’m not a faithful superhero watcher cause I don’t really like them.. but I had seen this movie before and didn’t really like it. This time though my whole view on the movie was different. It was like watching a whole different movie!!

The part that got me the most is when Superman flew Lois high up in the sky and said “Listen. What do you hear??” He asked. “Nothing” Lois replied. Then Superman replied, “I hear everything. You wrote that the world doesn’t need a savior, but every day I hear people crying for one.”

As soon as I heard the line I was like WOAH WOAH WOAH!!! DUDE! It was like something really clicked. Something was brought down to my level and it hit me in the head! I sat there at the park under my nice warm blanket thinking “God hear’s everything. People say they don’t need a Savior…but everyday you see people crying out for one!” Yah there are differences, but that line was just like a wow moment for me thinking that, yah God hear’s the people’s cries, but they don’t want a Savior they want a superman..someone who will fly in and save the day when they need to put their faith into the One True God – Jesus Christ.

What do we do with this?? Well as Christians we need to be out there telling everyone that God hears their cries and cares and wants to help… if they would let him… Jesus already took our punishment for sin… you just need to admit that we sinned and believe that Jesus did die and came back to life and then choose him… God hears and listens and answers.

This is a bit of encouragement from the movie…  At the end of the movie Superman talks to his son… and says this, “You will be different, sometimes you’ll feel like an outcast, but you’ll never be alone. You will make my strength your own.”

You will never be alone. As Christians we are different and should not feel like we belong to this world… but you will never be alone in this journey of life that God has given us… for God is always with us… and HE will give you strength to do the impossible…

“Come and listen, all you who fear God,
and I will tell you what he did for me.
For I cried out to him for help,
praising him as I spoke.
If I had not confessed the sin in my heart,
the Lord would not have listened.
But God did listen!
He paid attention to my prayer.
Praise God, who did not ignore my prayer
or withdraw his unfailing love from me.”

Psalm 66:16-20

Comments on: "Superman" (2)

  1. I love your blog Abby!!!! I love what you wrote here. It really made me think.

    • Thanks Katie!
      I really enjoyed writing it and it really made me think too…so I wanted to share it with everyone!

      p.s- Miss you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

